Wednesday, March 1, 2017

#BOOKMADNESS: 5 Reasons Why I love Rose Hathaway (+ A CONTEST!!!)

9:00:00 AM

#BOOKMADNESS: 5 REASONS WHY I LOVE ROSE HATHAWAY

      Hi you guys! Today is March 1st, and for those of us in the book community, that means the start of Book Madness hosted by Maggie Ann Martin!!!



      For those of you who don't know what Book Madness is, here is the low-down:

Last year Maggie Ann Martin hosted a super fun series called Book Madness, where BookTubers picked their favorite fictional character, made a video explaining why the character was awesome, and encouraged their viewers to vote to keep them moving through the competition. It’s set up in a bracket system like March Madness basketball in the U.S. 
This year Maggie is making it bigger and better with book lovers from the BookTube, Book Blogger, and Bookstagram community. Not only will our audience have the chance to win awesome prizes along the way (ARCs from 2017 debut authors, bookish trinkets, Amazon cards), but the winning blogger will win a $30 Amazon card! 
It works like this: each person participating would post a video, blog post, or photo on March 1st representing their favorite fictional character that they choose. In that post, we describe what makes them so great and encourage your audience to go and vote for them. At the end of each round, the characters with the highest half of the votes will keep going until we narrow it down to one champion character! 
      Cool right! So voting for Round 1 closes on March 5th at 11:59pm Central Standard Time. You are allowed to vote for up to 5 characters per round. And don't forget, you get entered for cool prizes after you vote! I am going to put a link to voting throughout this post so you don't miss the change to vote!



LINK TO VOTING HERE


      So without further ado, here are 5 reasons why I love Rose Hathaway from "Vampire Academy".

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5 REASONS WHY I LOVE ROSE HATHAWAY FROM VAMPIRE ACADEMY ((the book) I mean don't get me wrong I liked the movie too but for our purposes I'm talking about the book but using GIFS from the movie)

1. She is the definition of badass.



For those of you who don't know who Rose Hathaway is, basically she is a half-vampire who protects her best friend who is a full vampire and like queen of the good vampires. She also gets to kill the bad kind of vampires. Isn't that cool! She is such a badass fighter and doesn't stray from the fight. It doens't matter if they are bigger than her or more skilled, she is gonna give it her all which I totally admire her for. I love how she possesses the skills to fight and would love to gain those skills through like osmosis.

2. She is snarky and witty and overall has the personality of a smartass.



I like to think me and Rose are pretty idenitical when it comes to our personalities. She is snarky, witty, sarcastic, and what some might consider a pain in the ass. She is me basically which is why I love her. I love a good character who can stand up for themselves not only physically but verbally. A snarky personality just makes someone more enjoyable and I would love to have her as my best friend because I know we would have some good conversations and just slay people when they come after us.

3. She goes to a supercool boarding school.



She goes to a boarding school for vampire and vavmpire protectors and gets to learn how to fight. Cool right? I would have taken learning how to fight over my American public school any day. And I don't know what it is about boarding school settings, but they are one of my favorite settings in books. 

4. Her boyfriend is Dimitri.




Who wouldn't want to have Dimitri as a boyfriend? He's gorgeous, a fighter, puts up with her attitude (and believe me when I say it is hard to find a guy who isn't intimidated by girls like us), caring, and overall just #baegoals. Seriously, whenever he calls her "Roza" my heart swells a little. She is such a lucky girl to have him.

5. She lives in a paranormal world.



I would sell my left kidney to live in a paranormal world, no joke. She lives in a world where vampires and things that go bump in the night are real, and I envy her for that. Paranormal is without a doubt one of my favorite genres because it is a combination of the world we live in with something a little extra that makes it cool. She is fortunate enough to not be a normal human and be exposed to everything her world has to offer. I would love to be in her shoes. Even though I would have to somehow learn how to fight and stock up on weapons, I think it would be worth it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LINK FOR VOTING HERE



      So those are just a few of the reasons why I love Rose Hathaway. If you love her too, I hope you guys will support me and her and go vote for us in #BookMadness. As a reminder, you can vote for up to 5 characters, so not just mine, and you have the chance to win some cool prizes!

LINK FOR VOTING HERE

      Voting closes March 5th, 11:59pm Central Standard Time, so go out and vote! And if this makes it to the next round, I might make a booktube video to accompany this post... 

Friday, February 24, 2017

Friday Reads: 2/24/2017

11:56:00 AM

FRIDAY READS: 2/24/2017

      So I've actually read quite a bit this week because I didn't go to research and I didn't do that much school-wise. It was sooo nice having time to myself. Anyway, I'm not going to talk about what I read this week, but rather what I am reading today and this weekend.

Image result for around the way girl a memoir

     Today I finished listening to "Around the Way Girl" by Taraji P. Henson on audiobook. It was good but not great. I really appreciated how she talked about her struggles being a black woman not just in the film industry but in life in general. There were some things that I felt like could have been left out, but overall I enjoyed it and her personality.

Image result for king's cage

      Today I plan on finishing "King's Cage" by Victoria Aveyard too, but we'll see if that happens. I do not like this book. I do not like this series. Unhonestly. I only liked the first book. Everything since then has been downhill. I honestly don't know why I'm still reading this damn series. I guess because a part of me still wants to see what happens, but damnnit this shit is annoying af and like I don't care for like 90% of the shit going on. 



      So what are you guys reading today and this weekend? Have you read either of the books I talked about? If so, what are your thoughts? Does the Red Queen series annoy you as much as it does me? Tell me all about it down below in the comments. 

Thursday, February 16, 2017

Black Girl Love: "Everything, Everything" Movie Trailer Reaction Post

9:30:00 AM

"EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING" MOVIE TRAILER REACTION POST

      So yesterday (Tuesday) I was just minding my own business, scrolling through Twitter, when I saw Nicola Yoon had retweeted the first trailer for "Everything, Everything". I immediately stopped what I was doing to watch the trailer, which if you haven't watched it WATCH IT NOW DOWN BELOWWW. LIKE NOOOWWWWW. WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH YOUR LIFE WATCH IT!!!



      I'll be the first to admit, I was not the biggest fan of the book as I had a lot of issues with it, which you can read about here. Nevertheless, I still thought the book was cute and I really enjoyed the fact that the main character was a multicultural black girl like myself. 



      That being said I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE TRAILER!!! It gave me so much life and all the feels and oh my gosh I watched it three times in a row yesterdaay and twice today because I just cannot get enough of it. I don't know what it is about it, but it just makes me feel so good and happy inside and I love Amandla Stenberg as Mandy. Although physically she is not exactly what I pictured, she is perfect for the role. I love how she is portraying this character and just seeing a black girl up on the big screen like this fills me with so much joy.



      As for Olly, I'll admit, I wasn't really a fan of him in the book as he was highly unrealistic, but damn in this movie form he is actually pretty damn swoonworthy. I like Nick Robinson as Olly because they way he is portraying the character really makes him seem like he truly loves Mandy. Like hot damn, the way he smiles at Amandla has me feeling all kinds of joy.



      I guess the reason why I really love this trailer and why I think I will love the movie more than the book is just how us black girls are finally being represented and in such a good, happy-feeling light. It isn't often that we get casted in such contemporary roles like this one. When Olly tells Mandy that she is beautiful in the trailer, my heart just swelled because that is not something that gets said a lot towards black girls. I really hope this will make more black girls feel worthy and show that they are capable of being loved. 



      That's all I've got to say without going off to the point of writing a full-blown thesis. I'm probably going to go watch this trailer again even though I should be studing for a biology exam.



      What did you guys think of the trailer? Did you love it as much as I did? Will you go see the movie? And have you read the book before? If yes, did you like it, and do you think you'll like the movie more? Tell me all your thoughts and fangirl out with me down below in the comments. 

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Quick Lil' "Wintersong" by S. Jae-Jones Review

9:30:00 AM

24763621

Book: Wintersong

Author: S. Jae-Jones

Publisher: St. Griffins Teen

Release Date: February 7, 2017

My Rating: ★★★

Synopsis: Beware the goblin men and the wares they sell.

All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

But when her sister Käthe is taken by the goblins, Liesl journeys to their realm to rescue her sister and return her to the world above. The Goblin King agrees to let Käthe go—for a price. The life of a maiden must be given to the land, in accordance with the old laws. A life for a life, he says. Without sacrifice, nothing good can grow. Without death, there can be no rebirth. In exchange for her sister’s freedom, Liesl offers her hand in marriage to the Goblin King. He accepts.

Down in the Underground, Liesl discovers that the Goblin King still inspires her—musically, physically, emotionally. Yet even as her talent blossoms, Liesl’s life is slowly fading away, the price she paid for becoming the Goblin King’s bride. As the two of them grow closer, they must learn just what it is they are each willing to sacrifice: her life, her music, or the end of the world.

      This is going to be a really quick lil' review because I honestly don't have a lot to say because I'm not entirely sure how I feel about this book.



      Let me start off by saying this is one of the most unique books I've read in a while, which I appreciated. That being said, this book was weird af and I didn't understand half the shit going on in it. It was very... weird. Yeah, weird. I didn't particularly connect with any of the characters and the romance was just really unhealthy and creepy to me and made no sense. Like seriously this girl goes from taking her sister's place and thinking of the Goblin King in a negative light to constantly wanting to have sex with him and be the apple of his eye. She becomes quite needy and their whole dynamic is just off to me.



      As a violinist, I kind of appreciated the music aspect that was stitched throughout the entire novel, but it just seemed overexcessive at times and even though I know music, I feel like those who aren't musically talented wouldn't understand the terms and language being used.



      Damn this more than I thought I had to say... So overall, I thought it was alright, but it didn't blow me away. It left me with a weird feeling.


Monday, February 6, 2017

I Got a Book + Swag

3:11:00 PM

      I'm going to keep this really brief since for the first time in forever I have time to take a nap. Quirk Books was kind enough to send me a copy of "Geekerella" and a matching candle! I want to thank them for the cool swag and book. You can see what the stuff looks like down below and watch a hella quick video of me explaining what the book is about.






FOLLOW @ INSTAGRAM

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random